Sony NEX-7 and World Championship Snowmobile Derby

For the similarly named Sony Alpha full-frame cameras, see Sony Alpha ILCE-7.

The Sony NEX-7 is a digital camera announced Aug 24, 2011. It is a mirrorless interchangeable lens camera and as such inherits a smaller body form factor than a traditional digital single-lens reflex camera, whilst retaining the sensor size and features of an APS-C-sized model. It is targeted at experienced users, enthusiasts and professionals. It is replaced by the ILCE-6000 (α6000).

Contents 1 Features 2 Reception 3 Image quality 4 Hasselblad Lunar 5 References


Being targeted at experienced users, enthusiasts and professionals, the Sony NEX-7 offers features relevant to them. Mainly, it integrates a 24.3 megapixels APS-C sensor, videos 1920x1080p at 60 frame/s in AVCHD 2 and 10 fps stills shooting. It's built in a robust magnesium alloy and incorporates an XGA OLED electronic viewfinder with 2.4 million dots resolution. The camera's specifications are as follows: 24 megapixel APS-C CMOS image sensor ISO 100-16000 2.4m dot OLED Electronic View Finder (EVF) Electronic first-curtain shutter (for faster response time) 1080p 60 HD video recording with built-in mic (stereo) Rear screen with tilt feature Built-in flash and alpha hotshoe remote control receiver (infra-red) External mic input Reception

Albeit being delayed for a few months because of 2011's Thai floods, the NEX-7 was very well received by critics and users. In regions like Hong Kong, NEX-7 was always running out of stock. and PhotographyBlog gave it their highest awards, with the highest score ever attained by an APS class camera. NEX-7 also won the best camera in Camera Grand Prix 2012 under professional catalog, which was voted by a professional community consisting of 57 council members from the professional press field of the Camera Journal Press Club. Image quality

Sony Alpha NEX-7 has the best image quality among any mirrorless interchangeable-lens compact camera which have been tested by DxO Labs and also the best APS-C Sensor camera from Sony. Sony A65, Sony A77 and NEX-7 have same sensor and got DxOMark Overall Score 74, 78 and 81 respectively. The image quality of NEX-7 can be comparable with Nikon D7000 (score 80) and Pentax K-5 (score 82). Hasselblad Lunar

In September 2012, the Swedish camera manufacturer Hasselblad announced a collaboration with Sony and a mirrorless compact camera at photokina 2012 in Cologne, Germany. This camera, named Lunar, is based on the Sony NEX-7 with identical key specifications, but with aesthetic differences in exterior design and menu system. In January 2014, Hasselblad announced another cosmetic variant of the camera, limited to 200 units, named the Lunar Limited Edition.

World Championship Snowmobile Derby and Sony NEX-7

Frontstretch (in summer)

The World Championship Snowmobile Derby is the World championship snowmobile race. It is held at the Eagle River Derby Track along U.S. Route 45 in Eagle River, Wisconsin on the third weekend in January. Eagle River is known as the "Snowmobile Capital of the World" because it hosts the Derby. Eagle River is located in the same county as Sayner, Wisconsin, the place that Carl Eliason invented one of the first modern snowmobiles.

Contents 1 History 2 Qualifying 3 Winners 3.1 Winning Makes 4 Additional resources 5 References 6 External links


The first event was held in 1964. The event was founded by innkeeper John Alward, his wife Betty, and their friend Walter Goldsworthy. Alward's son Jake said "We had a couple of snowmobiles in the garage, and Dad figured more than a few other people did, too. He decided to have a rally." The event was a cross country race run on and around Dollar Lake. Many snowmobiles were unable to climb a small hill. The first winner was an eighth grade student named Stan Hayes, who won the marquee race in a 9 horsepower sled. The Alward's held the race at their inn in 1965 before passing it on to the Eagle River Lions Club. The Lions Club trademarked the term "World Championship Snowmobile Derby".

The 1968 derby was broadcast on ABC's Wide World of Sports. Numerous guests attended the event, including Bart Starr, Ray Nitschke and Fuzzy Thurston from the Super Bowl II Green Bay Packers championship team. The track was reconfigured to a 0.5 mile high banked oval in 1974.

The current event features 1400+ entrants racing snocross or on the oval track in vintage and modern snowmobiles. 30,000 spectators frequently attend the event. Qualifying Media tower

The riders with the sixteen fastest qualifying speeds during the Thursday night qualifying race in two heats on Friday night. The top five finishers in the two heats advance to a qualifying race. The top finisher in the ten competitor qualifying race starts on the pole position for the world championship feature on Sunday. The other nine competitors keep their seed for in a series of heat races, quarterfinals, semi-finals and consolation races to qualify for the Sunday world championship event. Winners Gary Moyle

P. J. Wanderscheid is the only rider to win four world championships (2002, 2003, 2006, 2011). Two drivers won the championship three times Jacques Villeneuve (1980, 1982, 1986) and Dave Wahl (1990, 1996, 1997). The two time winners are Steve Ave (1966, 1968), Mike Trapp (1971, 1972), Steve Thorsen (1977, 1978), Brad Hulings (1981, 1983), Dale Loritz (1994, 1995), Mike Houle (1999, 2000), Gary Moyle (2005, 2007), and Brian Bewcyk (2008, 2009). 2014 Malcom Chartier 2013 Malcom Chartier (50th anniversary) 2012 Nick Van Strydonk 2011 P.J. Wanderscheid 2010 Matt Schulz 2009 Brian Bewcyk(ski doo) 2008 Brian Bewcyk(ski doo) 2007 Gary Moyle(arctic cat) 2006 P. J. Wanderscheid(arctic cat) 2005 Gary Moyle(arctic cat) 2004 Larry Day (arctic cat) 2003 P. J. Wanderscheid(arctic cat) 2002 P. J. Wanderscheid(arctic cat) 2001 Jeremy Johnston(ski doo) 2000 Mike Houle(ski doo) 1999 Mike Houle(ski doo) 1998 Terry Wahl(ski doo) 1997 Dave Wahl(ski doo) 1996 Dave Wahl(ski doo) 1995 Dale Loritz(ski doo) 1994 Dale Loritz(ski doo) 1993 Al Fenhaus(ski doo) 1992 Gary Vessair(ski doo) 1991 Greg Goodwin(ski doo) 1990 Dave Wahl(ski doo) 1989 Bruce Vessair(ski doo) 1988 Bobby Donahue(ski doo) 1987 Chuck Decker(ski doo) 1986 Jacques Villeneuve(ski doo) 1985 Michael Gingras(ski doo) 1984 Jim Dimmerman(arctic cat) 1983 Brad Hulings(ski doo) 1982 Jacques Villeneuve(ski doo) 1981 Brad Hulings(scorpion) 1980 Jacques Villeneuve(ski doo) 1979 Bobby Elsner(arctic cat) 1978 Steve Thorsen(polaris) 1977 Steve Thorsen(polaris) 1976 Ed Schubitzke(yamaha) 1975 Jim Bernat(polaris) 1974 Gilles Villeneuve(alouette) 1973 Bob Eastman(polaris) 1972 Mike Trapp(yamaha) 1971 Mike Trapp(yamaha) 1970 Yvon Duhamel(ski doo) 1969 Roger Janssen(arctic cat) 1968 Steve Ave(ski doo) 1967 Duane Frandsen(ski doo) 1966 Steve Ave(ski doo) 1965 George Gensler(evinrude) 1964 Stan Hayes(polaris) Winning Makes SKI DOO 26 + ARCTIC CAT 9 POLARIS 4 YAMAHA 3 ALOUETTE 1 SCORPION 1 EVINRUDE 1

+from 1982 until the late 1990s, Ski-Doo was the only manufacturer making machines specifically for oval ice racing Additional resources Of Ice and Engines (book), chronicles the first 25 years of the Derby Decades Of The Derby (video), chronicles the first 40 years of the Derby
102/282 99 100 101 103 104 105 106 r102 slankamen